How Many Cities Are in Bergen County, NJ?

Bergen County, located in New Jersey, is home to an impressive 70 municipalities, including two towns, three cities, nine villages and 56 districts. Mahwah is the largest of these municipalities, covering an area of 26.19 square miles (67.8 km). In fact, Bergen County has more municipalities per capita than any other state in the Union. Each city or town in Bergen County has its own email address and website.

In the late 19th century, the county was the site of a heated battle between the established farming community, known as Punkin Dusters, and a rapidly growing urban population, referred to as Commuters. Bergen County offers a wide range of services to its residents, including libraries, community college, technical schools, prosecutor's office, golf courses, parks and election officials. The county also provides an accessibility statement for those with disabilities.

Leave Reply

Required fields are marked *